Minister Shabangu hand over houses to elderly people in Naauwpoort


DSC_5252Fenny Gaolaolwe and Susan Shabangu giving old peoples blanket as they celebrate Mandela day

BY REGINALD KANYANE

MINISTER in Presidency Susan Shabangu said that the government will continue to improve the lives of ordinary citizens, especially elderly women.

Shabangu handed over few houses to elderly people in Naauwpoort village outside Mahikeng on Thursday.

“We do what is in line with the promises we made to the residents of Bokone Bophirima. We will ensure that there is housing, security and comfort. The former President, Dr Nelson Mandela was very passionate about service delivery. We can only honour him by make sure that we deliver on our promises,” she said.

MEC for local government and human settlements department, Galaletsang Gaolaolwe was also part of the proceeding.

An ecstatic elderly woman, 77 from Naauwpoort could not contain her happiness.

“I have been staying in a shack for most of my life. I am very grateful and want to commend our provincial government. Receiving a key to my new house was amazing,” she said.

Another woman, Seritshane Maditjane who is a mother of seven children, survives on her monthly grant.

“I cannot survive on R1 500 a month. I was living in abject poverty and could not afford to build myself a house. At my age, I felt it was not safe for me to stay in a shack. So I decided to go and stay with my child,” she added.

-TDN

Follow us on Twitter@Taung_DailyNews or @IceT_

taungdailynews@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

